top of page

'Best of Show' in Richmond Art Museum

'Pegasus' won 'Best of Show' in the 124th Richmond Art Museum's Annual Exhibition!


My Mom and I arrived late to the Awards Ceremony due to a stalled vehicle, so we stood in the back as amateur awards were announced. The room was overflowing with people and buzzing with excitement. As amateur awards transitioned to professional awards, the anticipation continued to build leading up to the final four prizes.


To my delight, my two great friends, Roy Boswell and Justin Vining, received two of the top awards, Awards of Excellence for their incredible landscape paintings. After that (and a teasing pause before announcing Best of Show) I was shocked to hear 'Pegasus' announced and my name called out.


After that, it was a flurry of excitement and joyous conversation. The exhibition had so many beautiful pieces; it was wonderful to see artist friends I don't often get to spend time with. The evening was splendid in every way, and my first ever 'Best of Show' was made all the more special as it was shared with such good friends.




bottom of page